Pediatric Hospital Medicine


The Riley Pediatric Hospitalist Program has strong roots in the Indianapolis community. The group was founded at Methodist Hospital to serve the needs of the Pediatrics ward in 2002 by Dr. Shannon Phillips. Dr. Jeffrey Sperring assumed leadership of the group in 2002. The group has since grown to provide care at IU Health North since December 2005, IU Health West since January 2007, and Riley Hospital for Children since July 2007. These four facilities are the Indianapolis base of the IU Health hospital system, Indiana’s largest comprehensive health center. In service at these facilities, the group provides a range of care spanning delivery room and neonatal care to tertiary care management of pediatric patients.


The spectrum of patient care provided by the hospital medicine service provides a unique educational opportunity to our medical students, residents and fellow at the Indiana University School of Medicine. All members of the group are board-certified pediatricians and most have additional post-residency training as either chief residents or additional fellowships or board certification, such as toxicology, emergency medicine, and internal medicine.

As an academic section within the Department of Pediatrics at IU, the group is a vital part of clinical education for medical students and residents at all of our practice locations. The group is active in spearheading innovative educational opportunities, involving everything from implementing new hospital practices to supervising teaching conferences.

The hospitalist group also provides an innovative elective in pediatric hospital medicine for residents by using the breadth and depth of skills and experiences that our four facilities provide. The curriculum for the elective was developed by Dr. Jennifer Walthall and has been presented at national conferences.

Accolades and Achievements

The Riley Pediatric Hospitalist Program has been honored for their educational and scholarly activities. The group’s accomplishments are diverse and numerous, but include accolades such as:

  • The Morris Green Teaching Award
  • The Department of Emergency Medicine Teaching Award
  • The Medicine-Pediatrics Attending of the Year
  • IU Trustee Teaching Award
  • Pediatric Academic Society (PAS) Scholars

In addition, the group is active in scholarship and research, including the following societies:

  • American Academy of Pediatrics
  • Academic Pediatric Association
  • Society for Academic Emergency Medicine
  • Alpha Omega Alpha

Finally, Riley Pediatric Hospitalists have a reputation for implementing change and pursuing excellence through hospital administration and community outreach. Group founder, Dr. Jeffrey Sperring, moved on to become CEO of Riley Hospital for Children and other group physicians are members of many core hospital committees, including the IU Health Professional Standards Committee and Quality and Safety Control at Methodist and Riley Hospitals.